What Would She Do?

As a writer there are moments that come with such a strong force of emotion and inspiration that you have to just pick up that pen or sit down and type because the message is just coming out of you. One that is meant to be shared.

This is one of those times.

I woke up and had to write.

This time of year is bittersweet and stressful for many.

Why?

Let’s go back to the origin of the day and just think about it for a moment; maybe I will elaborate at some point but the fingers continue to type.

Seven years ago my Thanksgiving was forever changed. My beloved grandmother was in the hospital getting ready to cross over. I was very pregnant and everyone in the family was at their own emotional stage and taking turns at the hospital while we were attempting to still have a Thanksgiving meal.

I was so filled with spirit that day. I was sad that my grandmother was not going to be on earth very much longer but I thought to myself, ‘What would Nanny do?’ I remained calm and went to the store and bought food for everyone. Family members were in and out of the house and we just left a buffet of food for those to eat if and when they were hungry.

To me, Thanksgiving is another day.

To me, Thanksgiving is everyday.

I love preparing food for my family, but WHY do we all go to the extreme? I understand it’s about celebration, but WHY do some people get together even if they cannot stand being around each other? Why not do something for others? I went into the store this week and just felt blah. Wanting to scream and say, “Don’t you know there are people that are starving, dying and homeless?”

I am grateful for the loving and giving hearts of others, I am grateful for my simple life, I am grateful that I can write and share my inspirations, I am grateful that together if we put our hearts and minds to something we can create incredible positive change for our world, and for our fellow brothers and sisters.

I have a dream.

I wish that when you see another person, no matter the color of their skin or how much money they possess, spiritual path they follow or sexual orientation, that you see your sister or brother. I wish that instead of sitting around indulging on a big meal that we can take our blessings and share it with those that are alone, homeless, sick and starving. Not just on Thanksgiving, but everyday.

Something needs to change. I am tired of this dream where there are people less fortunate than I that are being ignored and neglected by the majority of humanity.

We need to take care of each other.

This is what my Nanny would do.

These were her last words.

“I love you, please take good care of each other.”

This is what I plan to do.

I hope that you turn of the TV, get off the couch and join me.

Be the Change.

Hey, Mom. What’s the address of the soup kitchen?

Leave a Reply

